Community, Spirit and Leadership Awards

Ms GRALEY (Narre Warren South) — Each year I present my community spirit and leadership award to a grade 4 student from each primary school in my electorate.

Teachers nominate award winners who show potential future leadership qualities and display a range of characteristics, such as being considerate of others, being civic minded and showing initiative.

Award winners this year are: Fatima Modebbi, Berwick Chase Primary School; Emily Franklin, Berwick Fields Primary School; Chloe Oldham, Berwick Lodge Primary School; Trent Simpson, Brentwood Park Primary School; Nathan Hunt, Coral Park Primary School; Errin Suresh, Fleetwood Primary School; Chamod Perera, Kilberry Valley Primary School; Kavindya Fernando, Narre Warren South P-12 College; Mihir Arnand, Strathaird Primary School; James Hounsome, Hillsmeade Primary School; Rylee Broadley, St Catherine’s; Monica Cody and Tristan Fernandez, St Kevin’s; Zayne Maniyar, Trinity.

John F. Kennedy once said, ‘Leadership and learning are indispensable to each other’. In this vein, the parents of the students and the teachers deserve heartfelt congratulations for guiding, nurturing and supporting such terrific young people.

When nominating the students the teachers use words and phrases such as ‘compassionate’, ’empathetic’, ‘motivated’, ‘helpful’ and ‘positive’ — such stars!

The students who received an award are tremendous role models, and I am confident they will continue to use their talents and abilities to play important leadership roles at their schools and in the local community. The future of Narre Warren South is in good hands.