Community Spirit and Leadership Awards

Ms GRALEY (Narre Warren South) — Each year I present my Community Spirit and Leadership award to a grade 4 student from each primary school in my electorate. Teachers select as award winners those who are regarded as having the potential to play a future leadership role in our community and who display a range of qualities such as being considerate of others, being civic minded and showing initiative.

James Bell, the principal of Brentwood Park Primary School, nominated Apryl Tonkin and described her as a highly self-motivated student who displays strong leadership qualities both at school and at the Berwick district girl guides. Belinda Harrington, grade 4 coordinator at Courtenay Gardens Primary School, nominated Brodie Grigg.

Brodie has a strong sense of world issues and works hard to inform others and helps out where she can. The teachers at Berwick Fields Primary School nominated Vy Hoang as she is an eager helper, is constantly supporting her classmates and participates in regular fundraising activities. Jacob Goicoa was the nominee from Don Bosco Catholic Primary
School. Jacob’s teachers described him as a kind, loyal and studious young man who is always keen to assist and support others.

The teachers at St Kevin’s School were once again unable to decide upon just the one winner. They found there were three very deserving and caring students — Siluni Hewa Dewage, Sarah Fritchley and Gaurish Sekar.

Other award winners included Yebin Yang from Trinity Catholic Primary School, Kyesha Hosking-Gregory from Kilberry Valley Primary School and Kaaviyan Pathmasiri from Berwick Lodge Primary School. All of them are young stars who will continue to use their talents and commendable qualities to play important leadership roles at their schools and in their local communities.

Well done to the winners and a big thank you to their parents and teachers for guiding and supporting such terrific young people. We are in good hands.