Narre Warren South student achievements

Ms GRALEY (Narre Warren South) — The holidays are almost upon us, and that means it is awards season at the many outstanding schools across Narre Warren South. This year’s recipients of my community spirit and leadership awards include: Tiran Siriwardane, Berwick Fields Primary School; Ewan Dorning, Brentwood Park Primary School; Masha Savelyeva, Coral Park Primary School; Kobe Swinburne, Hillsmeade Primary School; Charlotte Bamford, Narre Warren South P–12 College; and Vanshdeep Daler, St Kevin’s Primary School. Bright, calm and interested in what is happening in the world, these students are all shining stars.

Vanessa Phillips from Hampton Park Secondary College is this year’s very worthy recipient of the Joan Kirner AC Memorial Education Award. Vanessa is a hardworking and dedicated student who aspires to study at university and is giving it her all to realise this dream. Whilst working towards this goal Vanessa has also taken on leadership positions as a peer support leader and reading coach. Next year Vanessa will take on even more responsibility as school captain. I have no doubt she will continue to excel, just like Narre Warren South P–12 student Anagha Ramachandra, who received the prestigious Denese Bartlett Memorial Scholarship. Anagha, a year 11 student, completed two year 12 subjects this year, going above and beyond to achieve outstanding marks, as well as supporting her peers through study groups. Anagha’s teachers all told me that she is often the first to arrive in the morning and often the last to leave. What an outstanding young woman and a fine example to us all.

With a bit of hard work, grit and determination any one of us can make it — yes, just look at the mighty Bulldogs this year for inspiration! These award winners are our own very young leaders and superstars.